Review: Tree-Mendous Trouble

https://www.biblesatcost.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/650x/040ec09b1e35df139433887a97daa66f/tyndale/9781496435149.jpg

The Dead Sea Squirrels about two-squirrels who wake up after sleeping for almost 2,000 years. The squirrels live with the Gomez family and their cat Mr. Nemesis. In this book, the overarching theme was the beatitudes and in particular kindness.

The book itself was a cute book. I would consider it to be a good introductory chapter book for children who are just getting into them. The problem that I had with this book was the lack of decent doctrine for children. Having lead children in various capacities for years, I’ve realized that kids can understand a lot more than we give them credit for.

There were a few spots in the book where the squirrels get close to giving the gospel to the kids but left it short leaving me disappointed. It seemed as though Jesus was to be followed because he was a good person and taught good things and nowhere was it mentioned that he died so that we can follow Him. I left feeling like Jesus was more like Gandhi than the Son of God. I think kids can take that and learn that.

Because of these things, I gave it two stars. I really wanted to like this book, but it kind of fell short.

Leave a comment