Review: Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables (AmazonClassics Edition) by [Montgomery, Lucy Maud]

For those who have never heard of Anne of Green Gables, this story is about an orphan girl who grows up on Prince Edward Island, Canada. I have watched the Anne of Green Gables movies and the Road to Avonlea series growing up, but never read the books. (Side note if you’re going to watch the movies, do yourself a favor and watch the one from Sullivan Entertainment. You won’t be disappointed).

L.M. Montgomery does a magnificent job describing the scenery and background of things taking place. There were moments when reading that I was captivated by the descriptions that I almost felt as though I were a character watching all of these things unfold! These were moments when I could see the sunrises or sunsets, smell the flowers that were blooming, or laying in the grassy field where this was taking place.

I was overwhelmed by the beauty of this book. If you’re looking for an easy classic to read and enjoy, this would be a stellar option!

Leave a comment